This blog is for those 18 and older.

Friday, July 4, 2014

Did You Know We Are Part of the United States of America?

Photo by Robert Fabich Sr.

Happy Independence Day!

Today we celebrate the United States of America. Usually we think of the 50 states that make up our amazing country when we celebrate this day, but the fact is, there were only 13 states at the time the Declaration of Independence was signed. Today we have 50 states and... five Territories.

Yup, there are five Territories owned and protected by the United States. Many people don't realize this. We have even had trouble getting home a few times because our license is from the Virgin Islands :-} 

So if you want to impress your friends, here are the five Territories protected by the United States of America:

1. Puerto Rico (1917)
Photo by Tina Christopher
2. The US Virgin Islands: St. Thomas, St. John and St. Croix (1917)
3. Guam (1950)
4. Northern Mariana Islands (1986)
5. American Samoa (2007)

I just thought I’d provide this geographical reminder today so those of us in the U.S. Territories can celebrate too :-)

Happy July 4th

Always, Lexi

No comments:

Post a Comment